Contemplating New Beginnings

bird

Today is the first day of spring – a great time to contemplate one of the most cliché phrases used to describe this time of year and other monumental life events.

“New Beginnings” can seem like such a shallow phrase and its full meaning cannot be grasped until we have experienced it on numerous occasions, both happy and sad.  Often it is used when we believe someone needs to get over something and move on.

Yet I still take comfort in knowing that there is a new truth in each passing moment.  There is peace in releasing the fear that keeps us from seeking the truth in every situation we encounter. I have wasted a lot of time and energy hiding from the truth, afraid that I would not be able to bear its consequences.  Ultimately I have no choice but to accept what is.

strengthI have been told that I am a very strong person and I believe it is true, even though sometimes I feel very weak.  Perhaps I am strong because of all of the losses I have experienced in my life.  Perhaps it is because I was blessed with the gene for resilience.  Whatever the case, I take solace in new beginnings and the opportunity to allow truth to triumph over my fears.

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

