Lessons from a one-year-old on what to notice

IMG_1247“Worrying is carrying tomorrow’s load with today’s strength, carrying two days at once. It is moving into tomorrow ahead of time. Worrying doesn’t empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.”  – Corrie ten Boom

This weekend I had the pleasure of actually being able to release my worries long enough to immerse myself in the absolute jubilation of spending time with my daughter and granddaughter.  The beauty of a one-year-old is that she is a great example of what it looks like to live in the moment; noticing the speck on the floor and picking it up to give to mama, crackling the brown leaves between her tiny fingers and saying “oh wow”, gazing up at the geese flock flying overhead, and innocently surveying the people made up like zombies for the Halloween festivities without knowing to be afraid. leavesIn the quiet half hour when I rocked her while her mom slept in a bit,  I had the dual pleasure of being with her in the moment and also remembering those times when I held her mom in the same way.

Sheer bliss – being able to cast aside my worries and forget about my physical manifestations of stress, if only for a brief moment in time.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from a one-year-old on what to notice

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

