Writing 101 Day 3 – Three Songs

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

I love music, so it is very difficult to narrow it down, but off the top of my head, here are three that hold special meaning to me.

The first song that comes to mind is by Jewel, called “Angel Standing By”. If you listen to it, you will know why. It has the ability to take me to a place of feeling safe, secure, and loved. It is what I envision my mom saying to me if she could.

The second song I love is Maynard Ferguson’s rendition of  Chameleon. His version is rather raw and unpolished, with lots of bravado, but I think that is what I like most about it. When I played trumpet in jazz band as a teenager, there was nothing more exciting than trying to play that song like Maynard. But the biggest reason I love that song so much is that it always reminds me of my brother, who passed away in 2008. He was the reason I started playing trumpet, because I wanted to be like him, and I am so thankful for the connection music gave us over the years.

Last but not least is Wagon Wheel by Old Crow Medicine, simply because of the wonderful memories I have associated with this song in the past year of new beginnings. I smile and tap my feet every time I hear it, and it gives me a warm feeling inside.

4 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 3 – Three Songs

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

