Internet misinformation

“The problem with quotes found on the internet is that they’re not always accurate.”  — Abraham Lincoln.

The next week is going to be busy for me, as my semester is coming to an end and I have a couple of big projects that are due. I hope to have time to do a little bit of writing in between all that work.

I was at a conference yesterday, and one of the speaker’s showed a slide with the above “quote”. I thought it was worth sharing. I am not sure how I can work this post into yesterday’s theme except that it is so true that a lot of misunderstandings occur when we take things at face value rather than investigating what is true or untrue. Just because we see or read something on the internet doesn’t make it true.

Don’t let misinformation cast a shadow on your quest for knowledge. Seek to discern the difference between facts and myths.

1aa

 

 

8 thoughts on “Internet misinformation

    • I try to rely on the most credible sites, and you are right, at times I even see things on those sites that aren’t quite right. It can be exhausting trying to figure it all out!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. It takes time to investigate things, especially when we just want a quick answer, and it takes a conscious effort not to believe everything we hear.

      Like

  1. So true. I had minor issue with panic when I heard Cadbury was changing their crème egg chocolate. Then I investigated and learned it was only happening in England. I do not pass on information unless I know it to be true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha, that quote gave me quite a chuckle! This is so true though. Sometimes it’s amazing (in a crazy way) the kind of misleading information you can find on the internet! Good luck with your work/projects Amy 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

