When the Sun Sets

I have been counting down the days until my class is over and I will have more free time. When I think about it, I probably shouldn’t be in such a rush for time to pass. I remember something my dad said to me one winter when we were lamenting about how we couldn’t wait for summer. He shook his head and said  “saying we can’t wait for summer is like wishing our lives away”.

At 83, my dad says he has become acutely aware that each passing day brings him closer to his last breath. I laughed and told him he was being too cynical, but really I couldn’t bear to think about it.

As I get older, I am beginning to understand. I think I had a flicker of that feeling last night when I was driving home from the store. I saw the sun setting in the west and suddenly had the urge to drive towards it, to a place where I could capture its beauty. I ended up on a small dirt driveway by the local golf course. I ran onto the golf course feeling a little possessed and a little giddy. After I took some pictures I walked back to my car and drove away, feeling invigorated. I wondered how many more sunsets I will get to see in my lifetime. Since I don’t know, I want to make sure I remember to notice them all, even if just for a few minutes.

5 thoughts on “When the Sun Sets

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

