Nothing can vanquish me

“I knew that if I allowed fear to overtake me, my journey was doomed. Fear, to a great extent, is born of a story we tell ourselves, and so I chose to tell myself a different story from the one women are told. I decided I was safe. I was strong. I was brave. Nothing could vanquish me.”
Cheryl Strayed (Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail)

When I read this line in the book Wild, it took my breath away, and I felt a deep sense of peace. After all I’ve been through and the challenges I’ve faced, the anxiety, fear, regrets, and doubts; my strength came when I told myself a different story than the one that had been holding me back.

First, I realized that I could work towards my goals despite feelings of anxiety. That was a big one for me. If I waited until I no longer felt afraid, I would still be waiting. I had to make the decision to work with the fear rather than resisting it. To let it be my friend and not my enemy. If I was going to feel anxious any way, I might as well be doing something worthwhile while I was feeling anxious.

The second realization was that I don’t need anyone else’s approval, and I don’t need to have all of those regrets. I am who I am today just as much because of the mistakes I’ve made as I am because of my successes.

amy bridge

I am safe, strong, and brave today.

 

25 thoughts on “Nothing can vanquish me

  1. That is an awesome post, Shirley. I find my history in every line! “If I waited until I no longer felt afraid, I would still be waiting.” This is such a profound sentence! We have to change. No one else will and can do it for us. The feeling of the liberation and of strength even when we only make the decision to is unblievable. My magical sentence I all of a sudden had in mind which changed my life was: “I don’t need to fear anything or anyone!” Wow, so many similarities.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really great post. I haven’t read the book, nor have I seen the movie, but that quote makes me want to. There’s a quote from a Who Moved My Cheese that I like. “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” It’s kind of my go to for my anxious times.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love her story, so inspirational. Glad that some of us could come to this truth without walking that trail !

    Your post also inspires, Amy. Fabulous. Where was that picture taken?? It is amazing, and so well illustrates your point.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow Shirley those are huge steps…and you are so right in your acknowledgments…you should read Louise Hay or look her up online or Facebook, I think you would like her…keep on going!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

