In the City

On the city streets I watch scores of people passing by

And wonder – if I close my eyes do they cease to exist?

The sidewalks are spilling over with folks of all types

And I feel the presence of one thousand spirits

Wanting to be heard and seen.

Yet we manage to skirt by each other

Mostly without  so much as a glance.

From my room on the 26th floor

I see patterns and views I did not notice from below.

I see the rhythmic movement of the cars and people

Like blood cells being propelled through my veins.

And I come to see how all of these beings and structures

Have supported my existence in the city today.

 

 

5 thoughts on “In the City

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

