Freeing Ourselves from Other People’s Minds

“What if I did the most liberating thing there is, and freed myself from other people’s minds?” Brianna Wiest

I highly recommend reading Brianna’s article on how to stop wanting to be thin for anyone who struggles with this issue. We need to resist what we think society is telling us and find our own truth about our bodies.

Thought Catalog

People Magazine People Magazine

A few years agoduring some holiday gathering or another, I sat with my family and we played one of those charade games where you ask questions to get people to say words and those words combine into a phrase and your team only has a fixed amount of time to get it right. One of the questions someone used to get us to say the word “weight,” was: “What’s something that everybody wants to lose?” Every person in the room answered simultaneously, without missing a beat. Weight.

The thing about the wars against ourselves is that winning isn’t succeeding, but surrendering. The paradox is that what life is really about is un-growth. It’s about un-learning to do, and re-learning to be.

As much as it is about becoming who you are, its about peeling off the layers that you’re not. Pain is just resistance, and it’s born of…

View original post 1,083 more words

3 thoughts on “Freeing Ourselves from Other People’s Minds

  1. Award free blog? that’s cute. Where is this article about being thin. I am suffering due to gaining ten lbs. I have stopped eating bread again and feel like I’m starving to death. I want to go on Vyvanse even though bipolar. If I was 200 lbs I would, but I’m not. I’m 165 at 5’8″. I am so hungry right now I can’t believe it. I loved it when I was on Adderall but paid a price, I think in terms of stability.

    Like

    • I have found that the best thing to do is to focus on my mental health first and foremost, and to find acceptance of my body the way it is. It sounds like you are on the right track with taking care of yourself.

      Like

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

