Getting what you want

“If you need something from somebody always give that person a way to hand it to you.”
Sue Monk Kidd, The Secret Life of Bees

How simple those words and how easy to forget. I wonder how many times I have created unnecessary stress for myself (and others) because rather than asking for something, I expected people to read my mind or to instinctively know what I wanted. It has taken me quite awhile to get comfortable with using my voice to express my wants, desires, needs, and feelings. Sometimes giving a person a way to hand you what you want is as simple as letting them know what it is that you want.

Hollywood Wax Museum

Hollywood Wax Museum

10 thoughts on “Getting what you want

  1. One of the hardest movements for me is to have my mouth and mind
    work together,it has taken me a very long time to be assertive
    I’ve lost so much by thinking someone should know what it is I want
    I am so with you Amy on this one
    Great post excellent work
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sheldon, I have lost a lot that way too, but have come to see it has not a true loss, but a gain of knowledge of how to approach things in the future. Thank you!
      Amy

      Like

  2. It takes most of us a lifetime to discover this, Amy. I know for me, I always did expect a bit of mind reading. It’s just so much easier to ask for what you want, especially of the men I’ve known in my life. They appreciate the direct approach, and usually respond so well.

    Why did we waste so much time doing it the hard way ???
    p.s. That picture is fabulous…and so real looking !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

