A Day in the Life: Saying Good-bye

This post is a continuation of yesterday’s post in my A Day in the Life Series:

My mom passed away within a year of leaving the hospital, after the discovery that she had advanced stage lung cancer. Those last months with her were bittersweet, because she did actually return to her old self, and we were able to have some very peaceful moments together. She showed a childlike vulnerability during that time, and maintained a sense of humor despite the pain and discomfort she experienced because of the cancer. It always brings a smile to my face when I remember the standing joke we had about the wig my brother bought her after she lost her hair. It was nothing like her normal hair, which was always so thick and beautiful. It was a strange color, and the style was so different from her own. She would always wear it when he came to visit, and the moment he left she whipped it off with one finger. We always got a good laugh about that.

I feel a sense of peace when I think about those quiet nights when I sat by her side, listening to her raspy breath and watching her sleeping like an innocent baby. Her true essence was never more apparent than in those moments.

It was hard losing the woman whom I had witnessed fight so fiercely for the life she had always dreamed of having. In her own way she served as a model to me, and I learned to keep on going no matter what.

It is a holiday weekend, and I am looking forward to reuniting with my beautiful, lively 1-1/2 year old granddaughter. I will get to spend a lot of time with her and my daughters, and now more than ever, I am feeling so blessed.

I hope that you all have a wonderful weekend as well. As you contemplate the turmoil our country has gone through and continues to go through at times, as well as your own personal struggles, I hope that you will remember that not all things are resolved in a day, and it is what you make of the journey that matters the most.

Love and blessings to you all.

Photo by JMA

Photo by JMA

 

10 thoughts on “A Day in the Life: Saying Good-bye

  1. Oh, what a sweetheart! I understand your anticipation! The story of your mom touched me a lot. It is interesting how changed situations in life can be like a shift towards the essence of life. Everything we are not disappears. It is wonderful that the last memories of you mom are filled with lovely and funny moments.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Erika. I treasure those memories and learned a lot in that time. The weekend was wonderful with my grand baby. Hope you had a great weekend too.

      Like

  2. I love that your last line it is what you make of the journey that matters the most
    Now I feel I can more on
    Thank you Amy,it’s the fact that you stood back and still looked at your mother as a person and took what time you had and made into memories
    I just love the hope in your heart
    It brings tears…..
    Have fun
    As always Sheldon

    Like

  3. Both lovely and thought provoking, Amy. I wonder how many connections have been documented about mental illness and subsequent cancer diagnoses ? My mother’s cancer was diagnosed (stage 4, bladder cancer) within months of her stay at a psych hospital. We were all shocked that no physical symptoms were discovered, and that it advanced so rapidly. We had her a bit longer, almost 2 full years after the 3-6 month prognosis. She was a fighter, and there was a lot of healing to do in those 2 years. Thanks for sharing her again with us. Have a glorious holiday weekend with that young lovely !! ☺ Van

    Like

    • Van, it is amazing the parallels. I wonder if struggling with the mental illness perhaps blunted the physical symptoms and made them less aware of them. Very interesting. It sounds like your mom was a strong woman as well. Hope you had a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I used to imagine that maybe the mental health issues affected the immune system, and so left a person more vulnerable to other physical maladies. And, they were pumping her full of psych chemicals (aka meds) and they take a toll on healthy tissue…I’m guessing. Thanks, Amy.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Jim. Sometimes I wonder why I am doing this, but I think it is mostly about helping people to become more comfortable and understanding of people who have been misunderstood for so long. I appreciate your taking the time to read my posts! AMy

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: A Day in the Life: Home Sweet Home | Shirley's Heaven

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

