Blogging 201: Days 4 and 5 (Getting Down to the Nitty Gritty)

Day Five: Make the Most of Your Archives

This task was a little overwhelming for me since I have so many posts now and had no organizational structure in place. So I started with the most simple fix right now and will continue to tweak things throughout the next few weeks. I added the widget for my top posts on my sidebar. I can’t believe I hadn’t done that before.

I have never been one for the nitty gritty, sticks and bricks details and prefer to just do the writing, so this is going to be a great course (and challenge) for me.

As far as featuring some of my top posts every once in awhile, I noticed that my friend Vanessa at Petal & Mortar has done a great job with this particular technique. Kudos, Vanessa!

Day Four: Give ‘Em What They Want

Again, I looked at my stats and then went back through my posts and figured out that I hadn’t even used my categories consistently. It helps to see what other people are doing and I am slowly getting on board with some of those basics.

And by the way, definitely watch the video – it is guaranteed to put you in a good mood.

10 thoughts on “Blogging 201: Days 4 and 5 (Getting Down to the Nitty Gritty)

  1. Enjoy the course. I have taken a few and enjoyed them all. I wish I was taking another, but I am playing catchup with Life right now (including Photo101). Maybe I will learn from reading your experience with this course. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

