How do I know that I am blessed?

How do I know that I am blessed?

Do I need to live in a villa overlooking the ocean

to know that I am blessed?

Kamabesu Villa St. Johns

Kamabesu Villa St. Johns

Do I need to be in perfect health, with buns of steel

to know that I am blessed?

Buns-of-steel-VHS-200x300

Do I need to spend my days surrounded by adoring fans

to know that I am blessed?

maxresdefault

Do I need to have an abundance of food and clothing

to know that I am blessed?

be_model3

Do I need to have a prestigious career that pays well

to know that I am blessed?

Steve_Jobs_and_Bill_Gates_(522695099)

How long do I have to wait

to know that I am blessed?

calendar

I say the time is now and the blessings

are here in front of me.

These blessings are not contingent

upon my circumstances.

They are contingent upon

my ability to look within

to see not what I am without,

but in my ability to recognize

the one tiny blessing in front

of me, waiting to be noticed.

IMG_0226by Amy Jones

 

18 thoughts on “How do I know that I am blessed?

  1. That is such a thought provoking poem, Sometimes we overlook the simplest blessings right in front of our eyes trying to find bigger ones. I think the biggest blessing is contentment in life ! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

