Decisions, Decisions

1 a DecisionsWe don’t make our decisions;

Our decisions make us.

A. Jones

How many times have you been in a situation where you were trying to make an important decision and the more you thought about it, the harder it was to decide? This is particularly true for people with any type of mental health issues such as anxiety, depression, or any other illness that impacts one’s thought processes. Making a tough decision can actually trigger a significant exacerbation in symptoms unless there is a strategy in place to deal with the stress.

What I have learned over the years is to change the way I  think about those decisions. I have come to believe that while there may very well be a better answer for me, there really is no right or wrong answer. That doesn’t mean I am not going to make my list of pros and cons, and consider the possible outcomes. It just means that when it comes time to make that decision, I can relax, knowing there will be valuable lessons to learn no matter where I end up, and I can always choose another path if that one doesn’t work out.

Along the way I have discovered that my ego is often my biggest obstacle, leading me to believe there is a perfect outcome waiting for me, if only I  discover the right way to go.

It is not so much about the big decisions in life, but about all of the little choices I make each day, to stay present in this very moment, because ultimately that is what leads to my peace of mind.

Life doesn’t begin somewhere off in the distance, contingent upon the perfect scenario, it begins right here, right now, no matter which path I decide to take.

“Wear your ego like a loose-fitting garment.”

― Gautama Buddha

I’m a day late, but today’s post is for Silver Threading’s Writer’s Quote Wednesday.

Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Great thoughts here. I have a friend in the tension of trying to make a big decision. She’s holding back from fear of making the “wrong” choice. You’re right, there’s a lesson to learn whatever her choice.

    Like

  2. This is so wise and so true. I try to go with my initial instinct as it’s usually the most dependable. You are so right that the more you deliberate the harder it is to decide and then the more anxiety you cause yourself. Great post!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 8/26/15 | Silver Threading

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

