Connection in NYC

I enjoyed finding photos in my archives for the theme of this week’s Photo Challenge – Connected.

I’ve only been to New York City twice, once a few months after 9/11, and the second time a few years later for a business trip. Prior to my visits, I had heard many stories about how cold and unfriendly New York can be, but I found it to be just the opposite.

Maybe it was because I visited NYC right after 9/11 and people were just happy to have visitors, or maybe it was something less tangible, like a swell of energy  generated by this massive stein of humanity.

Whatever it was, I witnessed many ways in which the people of that wonderful city connected, and those images have stayed with me and left a place in my heart that is as warm and sustaining as the city itself.

10 thoughts on “Connection in NYC

  1. I’ve not been to NYC ever, but most that I know who’ve actually been there say the same as you. The stereotypical meanness of the city is false. It’s no meaner than any other large city. If you gather people together in large amounts, the best and worst come out in frequent and closely equal measure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

