Caring in this Moment

“Maybe this one moment, with this one person, is the very reason we are here on earth at this time.”  From The Caring Moment by Jean Watson

As we continue on our journey of helping my father to heal from his recent open-heart surgery, I am reminded of one of my favorite nurse theorists, Jean Watson. I first became familiar with her when I was taking a nursing theory class. I had become somewhat frustrated with some of the other theories which seemed too complicated to figure out how to put them into practice.

When I discovered Jean Watson’s Theory of Caring Science, I loved her message of authentic mindful caring. The essence of all caring is that brief moment in time when we can truly connect with another human being, and in that moment, create the essential bond that leads to healing at the deepest level.

I am thankful for each member of my dad’s healthcare team who have taken the time to get to know him, listen to him, and care for him.

It is hard to see this man who cared for me all those years in such a dependent state. Sometimes I become impatient with the baby steps he is making.  It is in those moments that I try to remember what is stated best in my favorite meditation by Jean Watson, beautifully illustrated in this Youtube video.

I’m hoping my dear father will be discharged from the hospital today, moving on to the next step into a cardiac rehab center. But it is in his time, not mine, that he will heal.

IMG_2622

15 thoughts on “Caring in this Moment

  1. That is such a beautiful piece, Amy, I would hope that everyone in the healthcare profession would have the chance to experience it. Just lovely, thank you for sharing it. And all the best to your family, and your father as he finds healing and peace moving forward. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank You for sharing this wisdom! I think the most important relationship is the one we have with whoever we are with in this moment whether it’s someone we know well or not. It’s good to give someone our full attention in the moments we are together interacting.
    I am thinking of you and your family and wishing you all the best. I hope your dad has an easy recovery and everything goes well. Your strength is inspiring. I’m happy you still have the motivation to post once in a while even with all the nerve-wracking things going on. Hugs & love to you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

