Remembering

IMG_2746Today I didn’t make it to work. After two months of taking care of my dad after his surgery, trying to keep up with work, classes, the holidays, and surviving a four-day audit that overlapped with the holidays, (went well – yay!),  I needed one day to wind down.

In the midst of all of these minor aggravations, the unthinkable happened. My friend lost her teenage son in a car crash the day after Christmas. She is one of the sweet, incredible women I have been meeting with for almost a decade now (we call ourselves the Sisters of the Sofa – SOS), having come together through our journey to deal with our anxiety and depression. Our stories are similar yet all slightly different and we are all on paths of spirituality and seeking. These are the ladies whom I might not see for an entire year and yet still know they are always rooting for me and will be there if I need anything. These are the women whom I know will be praying for me, even though I may not be the most spiritual of the group and don’t always turn to prayer myself.

Many times we have sat in our tight knit circle sharing our stories, often about our children. When my daughter was in the hospital after her suicide attempt, these women were there for me, and one even watched her cat for a few weeks until she was able to care for him again. When our children have gone through hard times, we have provided each other with the comfort and support needed to go on. Our tears have been interspersed with laughter, and whenever any of us have had an episode of panic or depression, we know there will be someone there who understands.

My whole being aches for my friend right now.  As my SOS are in the process of preparing for the visitation and services that are coming up, we will do our best to support our wounded sister.  We will be there with our plates of food, tear-stained faces, hugs, and heavy hearts, and leave the rest up to God.

24 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. A great group. I think it’s more common for women than for men to have one. I am fortunate to belong to a men’s group that offers a lot of support through sharing. Everyone should have such a group support system!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for such a personal and painful share, Amy. I wasn’t sure who was affected by tragedy, but now your prior posts make so much more sense. I’m so sorry, but equally glad that she has the support of friends like yourself. We all need that sofa. 💔

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend’s loss, and glad she has such a wonderful group of true friends to help her through this. I say through this knowing you never fully get “through” the loss of a child. God bless all of you.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Hard not to. Praying for someone in this situation seems almost futile; what could possibly ease the pain? I know a powerful memorial service, a eulogy that captures the individual can bring a moments’ peace for some. I will pray for whatever will bring that moment of peace.

        Like

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

