I like to pretend

1 tara flower

Each day when I walk out my back door,

Taking the well-worn path to my garage, where my gray car sits

waiting to take me to my next destination,

Barely noticing the tender buds of the crocus

sprouting up around me,

I like to pretend

I like to pretend that I know what is going to happen that day,

I like to think that I am driving, rather than being driven

That I am accelerating, rather than being accelerated

Breathing, rather than being breathed

I like to pretend that I am working, rather than being worked

That I am choosing a path, rather than a path choosing me

I like to pretend that I am in the know,

Rather than the know being in me

I like to believe I am embracing life,

When in fact, life is embracing me.

Amy Jones

FullSizeRender-5

 

12 thoughts on “I like to pretend

    • Happy Spring to you too Kelly. I have only a few weeks left this semester and can’t wait to have a little break from school so I can catch up on my blogging and reading blogs. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

