A Life Lesson for All Ages

Yesterday I struggled to see the good in my day. Everything was harder than normal, and I was feeling just plain gross and out of sorts. I was frustrated with my job and annoyed that I am not an expert at it yet. I missed my old job, but at the same time cursed it. I wanted to throw my uncooperative laptop out the window, and on the way to my doctor’s appointment I missed my exit. I was disappointed to find I hadn’t lost a pound despite eating a healthy diet and was reminded by the well-meaning doctor that my age was a contributing factor.

On the way home the contents of my purse spilled all over the floor of my car, and I was honked at several times for my distracted driving. I felt needy,  weepy, and isolated from my friends, whom I  haven’t gotten to see as much lately. I almost canceled a dinner because I didn’t think I was invited, but traffic was so bad I went any way. I’m glad I did, even though it felt a little awkward.

When a bad day is happening, I don’t always realize the reasons why I’m feeling out of sorts until it has passed. Today I am fairly certain most of it had to do with being tired and not knowing when to slow down and take it easy. Today I’m finding it a little easier to lighten up about things, probably because I’m not trying so hard.

Over the weekend I read a book to my grand-daughter called My No, No, No Day by Rebecca Patterson. After I finished reading, she looked up at me innocently and said, “Why was she having a bad day Mimi?”

My daughter, who was folding clothes on the bed was quick to remind the sleepy toddler of the bad day she’d had recently, after she missed her nap and threw several temper tantrums. What better way to let a small child know that bad days happen to everyone than by telling her a story.

Thank goodness there are books like this one and the popular kid’s book, Alexander and The Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst, that provide valuable lessons to children about life’s ups and downs, and thank goodness for the reminder to me as well.

8 thoughts on “A Life Lesson for All Ages

  1. For me as age creeps up on me
    That the littlest thing can set me off
    Success doesn’t come easy these days
    If it did There be a lot more cheers than fears,hang in there Amy
    I need you on the front line
    As Sheldon Always

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Amy. I loved this post. I can soooo identify with ‘some of those days’. I think we all have them but when it’s our crappy day we don’t necessarily think of others possibly having the same day. OH, and I know all about eating healthy and not losing a pound. Sometimes I kick my scale halfway into the other room when it doesn’t reward me. My husband laughs his head off when he sees it in an obscure place, asking what did it do bad to me? LOL. Nice to connect. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

