It’s my Journey

“It’s ok if things unfold differently than the plan. I learned that the business is just part of me, but it’s not who I am. It’s just what I do. ” – Emily Maynard

I came across this quote from an article in Forbes, How This Founder Reinvented Herself and Her Business to Find Happiness. How easy it is to look outside of ourselves for happiness, and how futile that search can become.

I’ve been doing some soul-searching lately after making a career change that hasn’t exactly been a good fit for me. I’m slowly working through this dilemma and recently met with a career coach who is helping me figure things out.  In the meantime, I am learning more about myself and my need to seek outward affirmation of my worth. My work has always been a big part of my drive for success. Ultimately this type of approach leads to a feeling of emptiness and not being true to oneself. The older I get the more I realize I only have so many days left on this earth, so I need to expend my energy on finding a peaceful balance between my inner and outer worlds.

I’ve never forgotten this line from the movie, Out of Africa. It says it perfectly:

“I don’t want to live someone else’s idea of how to live. Don’t ask me to do that. I don’t want to find out one day that I am at the end of someone else’s life.”

6 thoughts on “It’s my Journey

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

